Graphic Design Learning Outcome 10

Introduction

I used Adobe InDesign for the first time to create the postcard beneath this paragraph, using the tutorial on the Adobe website. I’ve added a few of my own flourishes in order to personally acquaint myself with the software and become comfortable with it. The entire experience was very helpful in achieving this and I will most definitely be able to create quality content in the future with what I consider to be a very well-designed product.

 

 

The Basics

To start, I set up the workspace with which I would be creating this postcard. I had to convert the measurements into inches in order to follow the American tutorial. This was achieved by going into ”Preferences” in the drop down menu that appears when you mouse over ”InDesign CC” and selecting ”Units and Increments”. After that, I went into ”Layout” and selected ”Margins and Columns”, setting the margin to 0.25 inches. Continuing this, I went into ”File”, ”Document Setup”, and set the bleed to 0.125 inches. This makes sure that the image is printed to the edge of the page. Printer’s marks (small elements present on the edges of the page) also facilitate the goal of getting a picture to print properly. Finally, I dragged down the horizontal and vertical rulers so that they crossed in the centre of the blank page. I did the same things to a second page (that would become the back of the postcard).

The Front

I used the ”Rectangle” tool and covered the entire first page with one. I went into “‘File”, ”Place”, and selected the image for the front of the postcard, that I had downloaded from the tutorial earlier. This filled the entire page with it. I then added the image for the logo using the same process. Underneath the logo, I used the “Text” tool to add the heading, went to a drop-down menu on the very right of the control panel, and used ”Underline Options” to add one. Also, I made the ”Stroke” (the outer edge of the lettering) black, and added a very small amount of kerning (spacing between individual letters, as opposed to tracking, which is the spacing between all the letters of the word). Then I added the two, smaller, white pieces of text underneath this text. Finally, I used the ”Rectangle” tool to create the diamond that you see dividing the small text, and I used the ”Line” tool to add a small line at the very bottom, while holding the shift key to align it with all of the other elements on the page. I made extensive use of the ”Select” tool during this to choose and manipulate the various objects present.

The Back

The back of the postcard was a lot simpler. I used the ”Line” tool  to create the fields to write on, and spaced them out equally by holding Alt. I finished up with the tool by creating a vertical line to divide the two halves of the page. I made a rectangle that covered about 3/4 of the left half of the page, and placed the provided text in there, and added ”Leading” with the control panel (the tool of which increases/decreases the space between lines of text), and used the same process to place the logos of social media companies underneath that, as well as the stamp. The last tool I used in this project was the ”Polygon” tool, which can make shapes with any amount of corners, and created the triangle that you see underneath the text.

I wrapped up by exporting the file as a PNG to show it to you all here (if I were to print this, I would export it as an Adobe PDF file, which is a proprietary file type of Adobe used for printing and displaying books in a digital format). This was my experience, and I hope I’ve shed some light on this topic to anybody reading this!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

