My Learning Style

ff1fcb87c03ce00077386fe05053c9df

Each student in my class was given a test to give a rough idea on what each person’s learning style is. The three results that a person could get were Visual, Auditory and Kinaesthetic. According to the test, I am a kinaesthetic learner. This means that I generally learn through action rather than listening or seeing something. Generally this would involve, touching, feeling, holding and developing muscle memory for something. The best way to teach me would be letting me do tasks and experiment with various approaches while only giving rough guidelines rather than in-depth instructions. If it’s a task that doesn’t involve much physical action, it would be good to introduce some kind of physical analogue to appeal to my learning style. Even sitting in a class I could stimulate myself through fidgeting, which has been shown to help concentration.

funny-hamsters-27

Areas I’m good at in terms of learning would be literacy, digital skills/computers and creativity. I like to believe that my English skills are above par, as I like to read almost every day, whether that be books, articles or messages. I am also a fast reader. I am well-adjusted to using computers, I can use the Adobe Creative Suite (Illustrator, Photoshop, Premiere) fairly well, as well as the Microsoft Office Suite (Word, Excel etc.), and my typing speed is fast, between 70 – 80 wpm (Words Per Minute). Finally, I would view myself as a creative person. I shoot and edit videos, write a variety of things on a daily basis, and often pitch ideas for whatever we may be doing in college.

To-Do List Be Better Words Dry Erase Board

I would definitely have to improve my ability to concentrate, as well as teamwork and numeracy skills. I procrastinate, often to an extreme degree that leaves me doing an immense amount of work about an hour or two before it’s due, or maybe even at the literal last minute in the worst of cases. This is often tied to my interest in a particular subject, so a good fix for this would be to discipline myself, whether that be through concentration techniques such as meditation/mindfulness, or through the use of efficient time management to schedule important things I have to get done. When it comes to working as part of a team, I have improved considerably over the years, getting over a large amount of social anxiety. However, there is room to improve and I can definitely be more assertive, communicate more effectively, and delegate responsibility to other members of the group in order to actually function as a team. And last but not least, I can definitely improve my numeracy skills as I have forgotten a large amount of mathematics that was thought to me during my years in secondary education.

Image Sources:

Learning Styles

Things I’m Good At

To-Do List

 

Leave a Reply

